One of the best parts about living in Oklahoma is having four true seasons each year, which means more beautiful days for enjoying the open roads on your motorcycle. But before you hit the road on your bike and head out on a Route 66 motorcycle trip, make sure you meet all the legal requirements to operate a motorcycle in our state.
The Car Accident Help team has decades of experience in motorcycle law and automobile law. We have a proven track record for helping Oklahomans throughout the state when they have been injured in a motorcycle accident.
If you have been catastrophically or permanently injured in a motorcycle accident because of the actions or negligence of another, contact our team today for a free case evaluation.
Getting a Motorcycle License in Oklahoma
If you want to drive a motorcycle in Oklahoma, it’s essential to have the correct license endorsement and meet the requirements laid out by state law. Getting a motorcycle license in Oklahoma isn’t tricky, but you’ll want to know the legal requirements before you fire up the engine. Requirements to get licensed differ depending on age and other factors, so the Car Accident Help team has outlined the conditions below.
How Old Do You Have to Be to Get A Motorcycle License?
One of the most frequently asked questions about motorcycles in Oklahoma is regarding the minimum age. In Oklahoma, 14 to 18-year-olds can obtain a motorcycle endorsement given they meet specific requirements and follow the process detailed below. So yes, a 14-year-old can drive a motorcycle in Oklahoma.
Application Steps for Ages 14-18 (Without A Drivers License)
Individuals aged 14 and older can follow the process below to apply for a motorcycle permit and then a motorcycle endorsement (license) in Oklahoma. More detailed information can be found on the Service Oklahoma website.
- Complete a Motorcycle Safety Foundations course. This course is required before the other steps can be completed.
- Collect the necessary information and documents, including proof of identity, social security number, and any name change documents (if needed).
- Visit an Oklahoma licensing office. Drivers who have never held a permit or license of any kind will need to pass the written Class D general knowledge test and a vision test before receiving a motorcycle permit. If you’re under 18, you must bring a parent or guardian with you for this.
- Once you’ve completed your test, you’ll receive a motorcycle learner permit for 30 days. For those under 16 years old, you will only be allowed to drive the motorcycle when accompanied by an adult over age 21, and Oklahoma motorcycle permits have strict restrictions about permitted driving hours (which are between 4:30 a.m. and 9 p.m.), required headgear, and other restrictions on speed limits and motorbike types. We recommend reviewing all of these restrictions before you get on your motorcycle.
- After 30 days, you’ll be eligible to receive a motorcycle endorsement (license). You must revisit the Oklahoma licensing office to receive your endorsement.
Application Steps for Licensed Drivers
Obtaining a motorcycle endorsement is very straightforward for licensed drivers, especially those over 18 years of age.
- Simply collect your proof of identity, social security number, valid proof of motorcycle liability insurance, and (if needed) name change documentation.
- Visit an Oklahoma licensing office that provides motorcycle services. You’ll have to pass a vision test when you visit.
- If you haven’t taken the Motorcycle Safety Foundations course, you’ll have to schedule and pass a written test and pass a motorcycle driving test.
- If you have taken a Motorcycle Safety Foundations course, you can bring the completion card and waive the tests.
- Finally, you’ll receive your motorcycle endorsement on your license. It will show as an endorsement on your new driver’s license card, which you will receive by mail.
What is the Oklahoma Motorcycle Safety Foundations Course Like?
Regardless of your age, the Car Accident Help team recommends that you take the time to complete the Oklahoma Motorcycle Safety Foundations course. The benefits of the course are valuable for all motorcycle drivers and other people on Oklahoma’s roads. Additionally, if you take a course, you won’t need to take the motorcycle driving skills test.
You can find a course near you by searching online here. Courses cover the safety measures required to keep motorcycle riders safe. You will also learn important riding information such as braking, shifting gears, and turning safely, as well as advanced safety concepts like sharing the road and what to do when faced with an emergency. Courses are typically 15 hours long, although they differ slightly from one location to another.
Laws about Operating a Motorcycle in Oklahoma
Now that you understand who can have a motorcycle license and how to get one, it’s essential to know the laws and regulations for operating a motorcycle in our state.
Do I Need a Motorcycle License for a Vespa or Moped?
When you think of a motorcycle, you likely often imagine a loud engine and a lot of power. Still, in Oklahoma, Vespa or moped operators also need a motorcycle endorsement on their license to ride on our roadways.
On November 11, 2023, a new law went into effect that defines a motor-driven cycle as:
A motor-driven cycle is any motor vehicle having:
- A power source that: a. if the power source is a combustion engine, has a piston or rotor displacement of greater than thirty-five cubic centimeters (35 cc) but less than one hundred fifty cubic centimeters (150 cc) regardless of the number of chambers in the power source, or b. if the power source is electric, has a power output of less than one thousand (1,000) watts, and
- A seat or saddle for the use of each rider, and
- Not more than three wheels in contact with the ground.
If your Vespa or moped meets these conditions, you do need a motorcycle endorsement on your license.
Is an E-Bike or Electric Bicycle Considered a Motorcycle in Oklahoma?
In Oklahoma, e-bikes are not regulated in the same way as motorcycles as long as they do not exceed the maximum power output. Electric bike riders in Oklahoma must be at least 16 years old and possess any class of license. A motorcycle license is not required. Registration and insurance are not necessary for e-bikes in Oklahoma.
Do Motorcyclists Have to Wear Helmets in Oklahoma?
Only motorcycle operators under age 18 are required to wear helmets in Oklahoma. We are not a universal helmet law state. So, although helmets are recommended, they are not required by Oklahoma law for anyone over 18.
What Kind of Motorcycle Insurance Do I Need?
In Oklahoma, motorcyclists are required to carry insurance. Oklahoma requires motorcycle riders to have a minimum liability policy of $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. We always recommend that you talk with your insurance agent to obtain the best coverage for you. In the event that you are in a serious accident with catastrophic injuries, you want to make sure to have plenty of insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance and the consequences of not carrying it in this article from our team of expert motorcycle accident attorneys in Oklahoma City.
Are There Oklahoma Motorcycle Passenger Laws?
According to Oklahoma law, only motorcycle drivers over 16 are allowed to have a passenger on their motorcycle. Additionally, your motorcycle must have a wheel diameter of 12 inches or greater and be factory-designed and equipped with either a double seating device with double footrests; or a sidecar attachment providing a separate seat space.
Additional Motorcycle Operation Laws
Oklahoma law also requires that motorcyclists operate their motorcycles safely; specifically, no motorcycle riders should hold onto any other vehicle to be propelled. Additionally, motorcyclists are prohibited from passing other vehicles by driving between lanes of traffic moving in the same direction.
Oklahoma Motorcycle Equipment Laws
Last but certainly not least, Oklahoma state laws outline many specific requirements regulating motorcycle equipment. Some of these requirements include:
- Two rearview mirrors at least three inches in diameter mounted one on each side of the motorcycle
- A windshield of sufficient quality, size, and thickness to protect the operator from foreign objects or the use of goggles or other protective eyewear
- A properly operating speedometer
- A fender over each wheel
- A horn
- A muffler or other effective noise-suppressing system
- Handlebars not higher than the eye level of the operator
Get Help From Oklahoma City’s Best Motorcycle Accident Team
If you have been involved in a motorcycle accident, you should consult a qualified Oklahoma motorcycle accident attorney. The team at Car Accident Help can answer any questions you may have regarding motorcycle accidents. Contact us today for a free case evaluation.