A 7-month old baby was among the injured victims of an Oklahoma car accident, which police report involved a drunk driver. According to a news report in The Tulsa World, the DUI collision occurred on Oklahoma 72 north of Checotah in McIntosh County. Oklahoma Highway Patrol reports that a 57-year-old man turned his 1989 Dodge pickup left in front of a 1996 Mercury Marquis carrying a 49-year-old man, a 48-year-old woman, and a 7-month-old child. The driver of the Marquis suffered severe injuries. The other occupants were treated and released from the hospital. Officials say the driver of the Dodge, who was also injured, may have been under the influence of alcohol.
It is illegal under Oklahoma law to operate with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher. It is illegal for anyone 21 years of age or older to driver a vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. The state has a “zero tolerance policy” when it comes to underage drivers, which means that they can face charges even if trace amounts of alcohol are found in their blood. It is also illegal under Oklahoma law when a driver fails to yield the right-of-way to an oncoming vehicle.
Drunk or negligent drivers, in addition to facing criminal charges, can also be held civilly liable for the injuries and damages they cause. Injured victims can seek compensation from the at-fault driver in such cases for damages, including (but not limited to) all medical expenses, lost wages, hospitalization, and rehabilitation costs. Victims would be well advised to contact an experienced Oklahoma personal injury lawyer who has a successful track record of holding drunk drivers financially responsible.
The knowledgeable drunk driving accident attorneys in Oklahoma at Maples Law Firm have a long history of protecting the rights of Oklahoma car accident victims. If you or a loved one has been hurt in a DUI crash, please call our offices at 1(888) 226-6159 for a free consultation and comprehensive case evaluation.